I Have to Share My Awesome Dinner

Toast

Tapenade Toasts with Roasted Vegetables from Ladies Home Journal

Somehow (and to be honest, I have absolutely no idea why) I am receiving Ladies Home Journal.  In the March issue there is a spread on soups and toasty sandwich recipes.  I came across this recipe, and I use that term loosely, for Tapenade Toasts with Roasted Vegetables.  Since I have been trying to incorporate more veggies into my life, and because this was the perfect excuse to eat bread, I wanted to give it a try.

It. was. AWESOME!!!!!!

Here is the link to the LHJ recipe, and here is what they said to do:

Heat oven to 425 degrees F. Toss 1 sliced zucchini, 1 small sliced onion, 1 sliced bell pepper, and 1/2 pint grape tomatoes with 1 tbsp olive oil and 1/2 tsp kosher salt. Roast, turning once, until vegetables are soft and golden, about 30 min. Spread 4 slices toasted ciabatta with prepared olive tapenade and top with roasted vegetables. Serves 4.

I changed things up a little bit to fit my needs and use up the vegetables that I had in my house.  (Like swapping Roma tomatoes for the grape tomatoes, and adding mushrooms.  Stuff like that.)  Oh, I also left out the salt on the veg because I knew the olives would be salty enough.  I whipped up a simple olive tapenade in the food processor with green and black olives, garlic, lemon juice, and parsley.  Feel free to use your favorite jar version.  It was so good, seriously.  You must try it.  The saltiness of the olive tapenade pairs perfectly with the sweetness of the roasted vegetables.  I added some cheese on top of the bread, which is not necessary, but I am a cheese addict.  We had Satori Raspberry Bellavitano because it was on special at Earth Fare.  I’d never heard of that cheese before, but it was very tasty and worked perfectly with this combination of flavors.

I wish that I had taken a picture of my plate, but I was too hungry and it was too good.  🙂  You should definitely try Tapenade Toasts with Roasted Vegetables for yourself.  I am absolutely going to do it again soon.

2 responses

  1. Yum!! That looks amazing. Isn’t it weird how magazines just show up at your house sometimes? I receive More and Vogue, for no apparent reason.

    1. Yeah, it’s crazy. I think some of my mags are from e.l.f. orders, and once you start getting a few then the sister magazines start arriving too. I have a lot of free 4-6 month subs showing up. It’s a little wacky.

Leave a Reply

