Reflections and Resolutions

It’s taken me a while to figure out what I am looking for from 2013.  2012 was not a very good year for me.  In fact, It has been one of the toughest I’ve lived through in quite some time.  I’m very glad to see the back of it, frankly, and I am hoping that 2013 will be much better.  More than that actually, I am determined to have a good year.  Granted, it hasn’t started out all that great, since was sick as a dog for the first half of January.  But I am finally feeling better now, and am in the proper mind frame to figure out how I want this year to go.  I’m not really one for making resolutions but, as it turns out, I do have several goals for this year.

The biggest goal I have for 2013 is to seriously reduce my debt.  Tim and I have more debt than we would like, and we have some big plans for 2014.  In order to accomplish those plans, we need to pay off debt and save up money this year.  We made a lot of headway financially in 2012, so I’m hoping to keep that trend going and improve on it.  One of the big things that needs to improve is to get our spending in check.  For the most part, we don’t make too many large purchases, but we tend to shop a lot for small things throughout the month and it eats our money up.  We also eat out a lot.  All these little things add up faster than one would think.

The other big goal for the year is to improve my health and lose weight.  This is the same goal that I had last year, but I didn’t make much headway with it.  I started out the year doing really well, but once my grandma got sick, and then especially after she passed, I really couldn’t have cared less about eating right and exercising.  Grief really screws with the diet.  But, I am in a better headspace now, so I am recommitted to my goal.  I don’t just want to lose weight, but I want to gain strength.  I was never thin, but when I played sports in high school, my body was capable of performing.  I miss that feeling of strength and ability.  I want to get that back, no matter what weight I am.  I want to feel physically strong.  Part of that goal is to enter a 5K or two this year.  I’ve never been much of a runner, but over the last year or so, my interest has been piqued.  I’ve never entered a race, but I really want that experience.

The other part of getting healthy, besides the physical, is changing our diet.  I want to cut out processed foods and eat more whole foods.  I’ve been doing a lot of research into the food industry in America, and I am dissatisfied with what I am seeing.  I want to try to move toward more locally grown organic food.  I have a lot more research to do in this area, but we have already started making changes.  We have organic produce delivered to us once a week.  We have started shopping farmers markets.  We are also going to take 14 weeks or real food challenges that were set up by the 100 Days of Real Food website.  (More on that later.)  I hope that by changing my diet I will find myself healthier and stronger in 2013.

I want to grow with my photography.  I love my camera so much, it was the best present ever.  I have so much to learn, and I am so excited by all of the information that I am gathering.  I realize that I am such a newbie that I don’t even really have a concept of how much I don’t know, but I am excited to jump in.  Although I think the pictures on my beauty blog are pretty good, in general, there is always room for improvement.  I’d like to explore lighting options and get a better lighting set up.  I want to be a better photographer, and I am hoping that I will make big strides this year in that department.

The final goal that I have for myself is to cut out and let go of those things in my life that are toxic.  I feel like I have made big strides in this area over the last several years by letting go of past issues and distancing myself from certain people.  There are just a few areas of my life that are still trouble spots.  Relationships with toxic people are really hard for me to break off.  I’ve managed to reach a place of health in my life where I don’t make destructive or reckless decisions, but I still have a hard time walking away from those people who are bad for me.  I’ve decided that I need to cleanse my life of those remaining things that still bring me down.  This goal is a bit nebulous, and I still need to do a lot more thinking on how that will actually work, but I have recognized that there are still issues and I want to clean house.

One response

  1. You have many plans and goals for yourself. Good luck on achieving them all!

Leave a Reply

