December Recap

McAdenville, NC

McAdenville, NC

Wow, December flew by for me.  I was so busy that I totally neglected this blog, but I wanted to catch you up on what I’ve been doing.  I didn’t actually manage to get through a photo-a-day during december after all, but I do plan on resuming that project during January.  I’ve got some other plans to tell you about, but first, here is what I’ve been up to since my last post.

Tim and I decided to join our old church choir for their Christmas cantata.  It was a lot of fun, and we are going to join them for Easter as well.  I really miss singing regularly.  There have been times in my life where I don’t have a musical outlet, but that usually only lasts for about a year before I can’t take it anymore and find some way to incorporate music back into my life.  It’s just in my blood, I guess.  I’d like to find something a little closer to home, though, because the whole reason we left that church in the first place is that we moved about 30 miles away.  Still, I miss the people in choir and it was really good to see everyone again.

Mini art quilt

Mini art quilt

I spent a good portion of December working on a mini art quilt for my sister.  I forgot to get a good picture of it, so here is a cropped shot from one of my pics on Christmas morning.  It’s a bad picture, but you can get the general idea.  After my grandmother died, I requested all of her clothes because I wanted to do something crafty with them for my mother, my sister, and myself.  This art quilt for my sister was the first one.  It took me a few months to figure out if I was emotionally stable enough to do it.  Grandma died right before this last Easter, so it’s been nine months.  Her death hit me really hard, and I’ve been pretty emotional this month.  But I really wanted to get the art quilt done for my sister for this first Christmas without grandma.  Deborah was grandma’s main caretaker fort the last two or three years, and I knew that it would mean so much to her.  I chose to do one of my sister’s favorite things, a mermaid sitting on coral for the main image, and everything was hand-sewn and hand-beaded made from scraps of about eight of my grandmas old dresses.  It came out pretty well and my sister loved it.  I was so happy that I could do something that meant so much to her.  So that took up the majority of my time, especially the second half of December.

Christmastown USA

Christmastown USA

Tim and I went to Christmas Town USA in McAdenville, NC to see the Christmas lights.  I got some good shots, and got to try out my new tripod.  One of the great things about getting my new camera, is that Tim and I are finding ourselves going out and doing things that we probably wouldn’t have otherwise.  We went to the botanical gardens back in October, and now to McAdenville.  The camera has given us a great excuse to get out and have adventures.  I’m so glad that I got it for my birthday.  The lights at McAdenville were beautiful, and we had a great time.  We chose to walk instead of drive, so we got some good exercise as we trekked a few miles around town.  This is a good thing since we abandoned our diets for the holiday, and needed to walk off some of the chocolate and gingerbread we had consumed.  😉

Christmastown

Christmastown

Christmas itself went pretty well.  We had a pleasant day, with out any drama or nonsense.  My six year old niece made out like a bandit with all of the loot that she had piled up.  She’s the only young child in the immediate family right now, so she gets spoiled every year.  I love giving gifts, so I was excited that the gifts that I gave out seemed to be well received.  I also made out pretty well this year, including a photography book to teach me how to use my camera, a popcorn popper that I’ve been wanting for a few month now, and an absolutely gorgeous peridot ring.

Peridot ring

Peridot ring

I’ve been wanting a peridot ring for my right hand for about two years.  I thought that I might get one for my birthday or our anniversary this year, but I got my fabulous camera instead.  I was really wanting a ring for Christmas and my husband surprised me with this beauty.  My wedding ring has an oval stone, so he chose an oval cut for the peridot.  I love it so much!!!

Peridot ring

Peridot ring

That pretty much sums up my December.  Except that I got so very sick two days after Christmas.  I am trying to take it easy and get lots of rest, but I’m pretty bad off at this point.  Tim and I had planned to start some new food challenges that I found over at 100 Days of Real Food, but that’s going to have to wait until I’m all better.  I’m leading the charge on this “eat more real food” bandwagon, and Tim doesn’t want to mess with getting creative in the kitchen while I am down for the count.  But I am determined to do more blogging in January.  I don’t want this blog to fall by the wayside.  I’m going to take this week to get myself better, then between this blog and my beauty bog, I will be a blogging fiend.  I will definitely post more about the 100 Days of Real Food mini challenges when I kick this flu.  Until then, have a safe and happy holiday, as you ring in 2013.

Happy 2013

Happy 2013

Happy New Year!!!

One response

  1. Deborah Burchard | Reply

    I used to go to to McAddenville a couple of times a month when I first got to NC. It’s a really cute little town. I bet Christmas was gorgeous. You are almost right about that art quilt. I don’t just love it, I treasure it. It was one of the best gifts ever. I am so sorry I gave you the flu in return. LOL Happy New Year My Sweet Sister.

Leave a Reply

