First Trip to the Farmers Market

Tim and I took out first trip to the local farmer’s market this weekend and love it.  I’ve mentioned that we get fresh organic produce delivered to us once a week, but there are some staples, like bell peppers and salad mix, that we buy in addition to our delivery.  I’m really trying to improve our diet and eat more whole foods, so I really wanted to go to the farmer’s market.  We are lucky to have a good growers market close by, and it’s silly that we haven’t even checked it out to see what they have to offer.

Child playing in the pumpkins

First up, we were greeted by this little guy playing with some pumpkins, right by the door.  Atherton Market is an indoor market, but there were a few booths set up outside, including woven wares and a guy who can help you set up your own chicken coop.

Farmer’s market

Obviously there were a ton vendors selling fresh organic locally grown fruits and veggies.  We came home with red bell peppers, zucchini, fresh mint, and a couple bags of mixed greens.

Fresh Flowers

There were also some beautiful flowers and floral arrangements.  I don’t often have flowers at my house, but they were really lovely.

Floral Arrangements

What was really cool to newbies like us, though, were the non-produce booths.  I’ve only been to one farmer’s market in my life and it was a pretty small one, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  There was a fish monger and a farm that sold locally raised, grass-fed beef and lamb.  We bought a delicious agave mustard from the Pickle Guy who had quite a variety of probiotic pickles and dips/salsas.  The artisan bread maker’s booth was really tempting, but I’m limiting my bread intake because we eat way too much of it right now.

Olives and Oils

I was very interested in this booth that offered a variety of oils and balsamic vinegar infused with different flavors.  They also had several types of olives and other jar items.  The booth was busy, so I didn’t get a chance to stop for a closer look, but I will definitely pick something up next time.

Fresh Roasted Nuts

A fun new find was this booth that sells freshly roasted nuts with no added salt or anything.  So fresh, in fact, that the peanuts were still warm.  I didn’t think that it would make that big of a difference in taste, but it really does.  The nuts are fantastic.  In addition to buying bags of their nuts and dried fruit, they also offer the option of creating your own trail mix blend.  I usually don’t like store bought trail mix.  Throwing raisins or dried coconut into a random mix of salty nuts, pretzels, candy etc., and calling it healthy just doesn’t do it for me.  We chose a mix of almonds, peanuts, dates, cherries, and papaya.  This trail mix is SO DELICIOUS!!!  In fact, it’s a little too good.  It’s really hard to limit myself to a small portion.  We walked away with one bag of trail mix, but next time we may have to stock up.

Fresh pasta

Another nifty booth sold freshly made pastas.  They had a ton of flavors, and a whole list of raviolis and gnocchi.  Everything was so tempting, it was tough to decide.  We bought some lobster ravioli and spinach gnocchi.  Though we haven’t had the gnocchi yet, the lobster ravioli was fantastic.

The Atherton Market is large, and open five days out of the week, which is great.  If you live in the Charlotte area, I highly recommend checking it out.  Tim and I had a great time, and will definitely be going back.  I encourage you to see what farmer’s markets are local to your area.  You never know what you are going to find.

Leave a Reply

