A Photo a Day in November Days 1-10

I decided this month to do Fatmumslim’s photo a day challenge, which you can find here.  There were a couple days that I had to double up because of random issues, but for the most part I’ve been able to keep up the photo a day schedule.  Since I don’t want to bog down a single post with 30 pictures, I figured that I’d break the month up into three 10-day segments to make loading easier.  some photos are definitely better than others, but I am liking the challenge of interpreting my daily assignment and trying to be creative.

Day 1: something beginning with “C”.  I chose to take a shot of crayons because I love color.  I also love the pointy tips of unused Crayolas.  The uniform shape is visually pleasing to me.

Day 2: colour.  Since I already shot crayons the first day, I had to do something a little less obvious for day 2.  I chose this colorful eyeshadow palette from Coastal Scents because, as a beauty blogger, I have a real appreciation for the rainbow of colors a makeup palette can provide.

Day 3: breakfast.  I have lately begun to buy oats in bulk from Whole Foods.  Luckily the bags this time had a little window to see your wares, so I took a shot of my oatmeal.

Day 4: TV.  I didn’t want to take a picture of my television, so instead I took a shot of the DVD’s of some of our favorite shows.

Day 5: 5 o’clock.  I wasn’t doing anything particularly interesting when 5:00 rolled around that day, so instead I took a shot of this watch.  I actually really like how this picture came out.

Day 6: a favorite thing.  The weather has gotten pretty cold here, so I have been wearing these fuzzy slipper booties every day to keep my feet warm and toasty.  My sister gave them to me for Christmas last year and I love them.

Day 7: reflection.  I had absolutely no inspiration this day, and I looked like crap, so I didn’t want to take a picture of me.  Luckily my husband was working from home that day and allowed me to interrupt him so that I could finish my assignment.  I gave him a ridiculously over-the-top pink and black flowery mirror that I received in a Dollar Store craft swap, and snapped a picture of him reflecting on his reflection.

Day 8: something you do every day.  We get organic fruit and vegetables delivered to us, and we recently increased our order to once a week.  Because of this, we have (what seems like) a never-ending supply of apples.  So lately I literally have been eating an apple a day.

Day 9: small.  I took a shot of some star confetti that I have in my craft stash.  The lighting this day was not the best, but that’s what happens when you try to take a picture every day.  Cloudy days happen.

Belladonna

Shenanigans

Day 10: can’t (won’t) live without.  One thing that I refuse to live without anymore are cats.  I’m not quite a crazy cat lady (yet), but I have decided that cats improve the quality of my life.  I had a couple when I was growing up, but after they eventually died, I didn’t have any cats for several years.  I missed having kitties, and wanted them, but our apartment was too small.  I got these two beauties four years ago, when we moved to NC.  The years that I did not have cats were not as fun as the years that I did have them.  So for the rest of my life, I will have feline friends living with me.  (I had to take two photos because they refuse to be in a picture together.)

That’s it for my first ten days.  I am doing well on my second set, and will post them sometime late next week (hopefully).

6 responses

  1. Love the cats! I got a nice chuckle looking at the pictures, picturing you sneaking around the house trying to get shots of them. In my imagination, you have an exaggerated tip-toe when you sneak. It’s awesome. I wish you could see it.

    1. Your mental picture isn’t entirely off. Though I don’t have my own theme music. Yet. 🙂

  2. Deborah Burchard | Reply

    Wow how fun. My camera is not working or I think I would give this a shot. Love all the pics though especially those fur babies.

    1. It is fun to do. Maybe you can use your cell phone camera? fatmumslim has a new list every month, so maybe you can join in in December.

  3. […] can see my first ten days of Fatmumslim’s Photo a Day challenge here, as well as a link to the list and an explanation of what this project is all about.  Again, I […]

  4. […] photo-a-day project for November and this is the third installment (Days 21-30).  You can follow this link to see my first 10 days with a link to the list and an explanation of what this project is all […]

Leave a Reply

