DIY LARABARS

Cherry almond squares

I have already expressed my love for snack bars in this blog, and some of my favorites are LARABARS.  The reason that I love LARABARS so much is because they have hardly any ingredients and are real food in a convenient bar form.  Unfortunately, they are also expensive at anywhere from $1.25-$2.00 a bar (depending on where you purchase them).  So, since the ingredients are so few, I figured that I could make a similar version myself.  LARABARS are basically dried fruit and nuts that have been combined to create the different flavors.  Usually dates are used as the base to make the bar.  I opted to start with a cherry almond version and it came out great.  All I used were dried dates, dried cherries, and whole almonds.  They do not taste exactly like my favorite Cherry Pie flavored LARABAR, mostly because I added so many almonds, but they do taste fantastic.  I actually like them better than the original.  Almonds…mmmm.  You can find some recipes online from others who have made their own bars, but I just took the general principal and ran with it.  All you need is a food processor and some creativity.  Next up, I plan to make a chocolate-peanut butter version with oats.  I can’t wait to play around with different flavors.

As far as cost is concerned, the cherry-almond squares that I made are not cost-effective and I came out about even as I would have if I had gotten the actual LARABARS.  They came to about $1.40 each square.  Dried cherries are super expensive, so I probably won’t try them again very often unless I can find them online for less in bulk.  I’m still really glad that I made them because, like I said, I like them even better than the original.  The chocolate peanut butter ones will be much cheaper because I already have all the ingredients as stuff we normally buy and just need to purchase the dates.  I should get about 9 squares for around $4.00 if they turn out how I expect them to.

All in all, it was a really fun experiment.  I am positive that I can play around with flavors and shop around for less expensive ingredients to come out ahead of buying LARABARS in the future.  Though I still may purchase the Cherry Pie flavor.  🙂

2 responses

  1. This sounds great. I would love to try the chocolate peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

