Photos from the UNC Botanical Garden

I am finally posting some of the pictures that in took from the UNC Charlotte Botanical Garden and Greenhouses.  Tim and I went there during our Anniversary Extravaganza Weekend in early October.  It was an opportunity to take my new macro lens out for a spin.  I’m still trying to get the hang of my new camera, and this was the first time that I used the macro lens and experimented with a really shallow depth is focus.  We started in the greenhouses and then moved out to the garden.  I took a million pictures, but here are some of the highlights.  I tried to limit the number of photos included in this post, but there are still a lot.  I kept the images small so that they would (hopefully) load faster.  Enjoy!

We had a great time at the UNC Botanical Garden.  At first I didn’t think that we’d get a lot of shots by just looking at the greenhouses, but they are larger than they look.  Like I said, I took a ton of pictures.  The Botanical garden is across the street and it’s huge.  There was a lot to see, even in October.  I bet in the spring it is a whole new experience.  If you are in the area and want to visit the UNC Charlotte Botanical Garden and Greenhouses, here is their website.

5 responses

  1. I love the sixth from the top… so tentacle-y! Did you use a tripod to stabilize?

    1. Thanks. 🙂 Nope, no tripod. A tripod is next on my list of camera gadgets to get. I definitely want it for when I use telephoto because that lens is heavy and awkward. I have internal image stabilization on the macro, but a tripod would be nice. I also want an external flash so that I can play with the lighting.

  2. Awesome pics. I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

