My Favorite Things: September 2012

It’s time for My Favorite Things.  For those who aren’t familiar with monthly favorites, this is where I share my favorite non-beauty items of the previous month.  This can include food, clothing, entertainment… you name it.  If you want to see my beauty favorites over at my beauty blog, click here.

Better ‘n Peanut and Butter Banana Waffles

Oh my gosh, I haven’t had this combination since February or so, and I forgot how good it is.  I am a peanut butter junkie, but since I’m on a diet I don’t want to eat something so high in fat like regular peanut butter.  I eat nuts, seeds, and avocados, so it’s not like I don’t get those healthy fats elsewhere.  I found Better ‘n Peanut Butter about a year and a half ago.  It’s a fantastic PB substitute, with only 2 g of fat per 2 tbl.  It comes in several varieties, including chocolate, but I prefer the low sodium version.  I like to spread it on Van’s Lite toaster waffles, which are great for those counting Weight Watchers points (like myself), and top it off with sliced banana.  This is such a good breakfast or snack.  It’s low in fat and calories, and it tastes so good.

Multi-Grain Cheerios

Sometimes I just want some cereal.  Frankly, cereal can be a dangerous food for me because I can eat a crap ton of it.  I love cereal, especially the sugary ones like Pops, Frosted Flakes, or Captain Crunch.  When I started to try to be more health-conscious in my eating I cut out cereal completely.  After a year or so, though, I missed it.  I have started eating Multi-grain Cheerios occasionally, and really like them.  They are a generally healthy option, have good WW stats, and are just sweet enough to satisfy without crossing over into the sugary cereal category.  I still need to be careful to stop myself from going overboard, but I am very happy to be eating cereal again.

Chia seeds

Ch-ch-ch-chia, ch-ch-ch-chia… seeds.  That’s right, it’s the same stuff that grows into Homer Simpson’s grassy hair, or the fuzzy green body of a pig or a kitty.  Chia seeds are all the rage because it turns out that they are really good for you.  Chia seeds are rich in antioxidants and Omega 3, and packed with fiber, protein, calcium, and potassium.  You can eat them dry, sprinkled on food, or your can make chia gel.  Chia seeds absorb water and expand to form a gel like consistency that adds volume to food, without adding a ton of fat and calories.  I’ve been eating them mixed into my yogurt.  They expand in the stomach, making my yogurt a more satisfying snack because I feel more full.  The seeds have a very mild flavor that is hardly noticeable, so they blend into food really well and are an unobtrusive addition.  I’m going to try  chia pudding with almond milk as my next experiment.

Pill Box

Yes, I am a 90 year old woman.  Okay, not really, but I do have a terrible time trying to remember to take my vitamins.  I simply could not manage to take them every day, no matter where the bottles lived.  I tried putting them by the bathroom sink, on my computer desk, in the kitchen.  No dice.  Finally, I broke down and got a pill box and all of a sudden my memory lapses are over.  I put the pill box by the bathroom sink and the days-of-the-week compartments serve as a reminder to take my vitamins in a way the actual bottles didn’t.  And if I do happen to forget when I wake up, I can see that I haven’t taken that day’s pills when I wash my hands throughout the day.  What can I say?  It works for me.

Angry Birds

I have been obsessed with Angry Birds this month.  I have played Angry Birds in the past, but I was never really into it.  Well, I got my husband the new Kindle Fire HD for his birthday, and have discovered that I actually really love Angry Birds.  Something clicked in my brain, and all of a sudden I can’t stop playing.  I love the birds, I love the pigs, I’m an Angry Birds junkie.  Do you think they make a patch for that?  🙂

Hulu

We signed up for a free trial of Hulu throughout September.  Normally, I don’t watch TV.  We don’t have cable or satellite, and barely pick up local reception.  We usually wait for out favorite shows to come out on DVD or get released to Netflix instant.  Watching the Olympics, though, introduced us to a couple new shows, so we decided to give Hulu a try.  I’ve liked it for the most part.  I’ve been able to catch up on Bones, and Castle, as well as a few other of our favorites.  I do wish that Hulu showed How I Met Your Mother, though.  I don’t like having to keep a schedule according to the TV, so I will probably never watch my shows as they are being aired.  Hulu is a cheap alternative to things like a DVR, or other more expensive options.  I don’t know if we will keep it, but I have enjoyed Hulu so far.

That’s it for this past month’s favorite things.  What have you been enjoying lately?

One response

  1. Oooh I am going to have to try the Chia seed. Although all I think of when I think chia is the Obama versian of the pet with his chia hair. LOL Can I get this at the regular grocery store?

Leave a Reply

