Favorite Things: August 2012

Over at my beauty blog I do a series of posts called “Monthly Favorites” where I share the beauty products that I’ve been especially loving over the course of the month.  I’d like to do a similar thing over here, where I share my favorite non-beauty items of the month.  This can include food, clothing, entertainment… you name it.  So, here are my favorite things for this past month.

Kashi Honey Almond Flax bars

Kashi Honey Almond Flax bars are my favorite snack.  They taste great, are really healthy for you, and are super easy to grab and go if you are on your way out the door.  They are actually pretty filling, not like normal chewey granola bars that don’t dent hunger.  The kashi bars provide a good pick-me-up that gets me through the time between lunch and dinner.  If I’m in a hurry, I can grab one of these bars and a low fat yogurt for a quick breakfast that lasts.

Peach Tea

I have been loving iced tea this month.  My favorite flavor of iced tea is peach black tea.  I used to drink Republic of Tea Ginger Peach iced tea, which was fantastic, but this Stash brand peach black tea is really good and much more convenient.  I’m trying to limit my soda intake and, although I drink a ton of water, sometimes I want a break from plain water.  I don’t need to sweeten my tea, the subtle peach flavor is delicious.

The Hunger Games

My husband, who was counting down the days until it was released, rushed out and got The Hunger Games 3-disc Deluxe Edition blue ray the day it came out.  I really enjoyed the movie.  I usually hate movie adaptations of stories I already know the first several times that I see them.  It usually takes me a few viewings to be able to stop making comparisons and really enjoy the movie for what it is.  I did not experience that with The Hunger Games.  Yes, there are obviously differences between the book and the movie, but I actually really liked the movie from the first time I saw it back when it was in theaters.  I thought that it was a really good adaptation and I look forward to seeing the next two books adapted to film.  The deluxe edition has hours of bonus materials (though no commentary, which makes no sense to me and is a serious oversight) that are informative and fun to watch.  Since I am living in NC right now, it was cool to see footage of them shooting in North Carolina locations.  If you are a fan of bonus materials, this is a good one to get.  The director really explained his vision and there are tons of interviews.

Adele Live at the Royal Albert Hall

I’ve been a fan of Adele for a while now, but recently I saw Adele Live at the Royal Albert Hall through Netflix.  She is so charming and beautiful and talented that I fell in love with her all over again.  I really love her music and have been listening to her constantly this month.  One thing that really stuck out to me while watching the DVD is how comfortable and easy going she comes off on stage.  She could be absolutely terrified, but it feels like she’s just chatting in her living room.  I would love to be that easy (seeming) in front of a crowd.  It’s been awhile since I was performing regularly, and my stage fright seems to have returned in the last few years.  These days when I’m up for a solo or have to talk in front of an audience I’m filled with anxiety for weeks ahead of time.  I’d love to be confident enough to just blather to an audience and let my natural charm take over like Adele does in this show.  I really enjoyed it, and her music is absolutely fabulous.

Grimm

After seeing the twentieth commercial for it during the Olympics, I finally broke down and gave Grimm a try.  We got the first season through Netflix and my husband and I both really enjoyed it.  The basic premise is that Nick, a detective with the Portland PD, is a descendant of the Grimms.   All of the fairytales are real, and the monsters do exist as a separate species of beings that walk among humans.  They look like us until they get overly emotional, and then their true form comes out.  Only the Grimm can see them for what they truly are and it’s his job to help the good ones and stop the bad ones, though the line between good and bad is often a gray area.  The show is part Law and Order, part Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and is really entertaining.  The special effects and makeup departments do an excellent job at creating the creatures, both friend and foe.  Season two is about four episodes in now on NBC, and we are hooked.  Grimm is dark and suspenseful and magical, all rolled into one.  I like it a lot.

Those are my favorite things for the month of August.  For those who follow both my beauty blog and this blog, I’ll be posting my monthly favorites soon over there.  I’m always behind with these things.  😉  I hope that you found something that you like.  Let me know if you try any of my suggestions and tell me what you think.

3 responses

  1. I’m curious about Grimm, is it scary at all?

    I’m trying to limit my soda intake, it’s so hard! I’ve been trying tea and Gatorade.

    1. I personally don’t find Grimm scary, but that’s because it reminds me of Charmed, Buffy, or Angel. It’s that level of creature feature. To me it’s like watching a cop show, except the perps are not human. There is definitely murder and mayhem, though, so if you are sensitive to crime shows tread with caution.

      1. Oh good! I’ll be okay then (: thanks!

Leave a Reply

